Distance is not for the fearful, it is for the bold. It's for those who are willing to spend a lot of time alone in exchange for a little time with the one they love. It's for those who know a good thing when they see it, even if they don't see it nearly enough.

Days like today…

…remind me why I love this life.

I woke up this morning at 0530 with Buddy to get him ready for his local (a flight in the “local” area… generally the same state or so).   He left, the boys and I went back to bed for an hour, and I got up, got ready, made breakfast, and played with the dogs for a bit.  Then I headed to base to my friend E’s house.  We had decided to go watch Buddy’s take off with her 14 month old daughter.  I hadn’t seen him fly in anything (T-6s, T-1s, or C-17s) so I was REALLY excited.  He took off right on time and did a couple of touch-and-gos.  It was so cool!

E and I spent the whole day hanging out.  Her husband is in our squadron too so he’s currently on the road in Germany (our squadron flies more than any other).  She’s been having a rough time so I was happy to spend the day with her and their daughter.  It was SO much fun getting to go shop and just sit on the couch and talk to someone else who gets it and gets me.  She and I have only been friends for a few months, but I already feel closer to her than I do most of my friends.  We just instantly clicked which was amazing.  On our way to World Market, Buddy’s C-17 flew RIGHT over the car so I got to see Buddy fly twice in one day, after almost four years of never having seen him fly!  Buddy met us at E’s house when he was done de-briefing and chatted with us for a bit since we were out on the driveway with E’s daughter playing with chalk (it was FINALLY sunny today!).

I headed to the commissary, picked up some groceries, came home, and made grilled chicken, mac n cheese, and balsamic vinegar roasted asparagus.  It was delicious, but the best part was getting to sit on the couch with my sweetheart, puppies playing on the floor, and relax after a busy day for both of us.

Leave a Reply

