Distance is not for the fearful, it is for the bold. It's for those who are willing to spend a lot of time alone in exchange for a little time with the one they love. It's for those who know a good thing when they see it, even if they don't see it nearly enough.

Gay Parents

I watched a YouTube video on Facebook recently that touched me deeply.  It’s a social experiment (much like the ones I conducted and studied for my degree) where a gay couple with children (all actors) is at a restaurant.  The waitress (an actress) is rude, saying derogatory remarks about their lifestyle choice.  The idea is to see whether people in an especially “red” part of the country (small-town Texas) would stand up for these people.  24 out of 50 did (50%).  That’s half of the patrons.  In an ironic twist, New York, a “blue” part of the country, had only 12 out of 100 (12%) stand up for them.

Someone once told  me (and the waitress said it in the video) that having gay parents would hurt a child’s development.  How does having two loving parents EVER hurt a child’s development?  Maybe I take special offense to this because the same argument could be made about Ryan’s and my lifestyle choice.  I know, without a doubt, that my kids will grow up with a single parent for at least part of their lives.  It’s inevitable.  That does not mean they won’t grow up to be functioning, caring, respectful adults.  Two women or two men can raise a wonderful human being just as well as the rest of us.  In fact, I would be willing to place bets that many of them would be more ready to be a parent than many of the parents that DO have kids (teenagers, drug addicts, alcoholics, etc.).  And yet, for some reason, a 16 year old mom is more accepted than a gay couple, even though the gay couple likely has more education, better jobs, and is more mature and ready for the responsibility.

It saddens me immensely that we have to have a campaign like “It Gets Better” because there are so many teens and young adults who are trying to figure out who they are, who they like, and being told they’re wrong, nasty, sinful.  Last time I checked, Christianity was about acceptance and forgiveness.  Last time I checked, it was God who gets to make the call about who is right and who is wrong, not us.  So why are there so many of us who think we know what people should and should not be doing with their lives?

Now, the reason this touched me was not because it was conducted in the place that I will always be proud to call home, but because it showed that humanity is humanity and that people still care about others.  It makes me so happy that people will stand up for total strangers.  I pray that I have the same strength and courage that all of the people in the video did.  Whether you agree with the lifestyle choice or not, they have the right to make that choice and should be allowed to live the way they would like to live.  That’s the beauty of America, and what my husband and friends are fighting for.

Leave a Reply

